Software

Voice input for keeping a diary: is it true that dictating thoughts is easier than typing

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~11 min

Potok turns speech into text in 33 languages, including English and Russian.

Dictating a stream of thoughts for a personal diary is usually faster than typing: you do not have to stop over typos and formatting, and a spoken thought turns into text by itself. The eight voice input programs differ in where such a personal entry is processed, on the device or in someone else's cloud, and in what free limit applies. Potok (potok.now) gives 2500 words per week for free.

A diary is not a short business phrase in a rigid structure but a free stream of thoughts that is easy to lose while your hands pick words on the keyboard. In this sense voice input is closer to how a thought arises in the head: you said it and did not get distracted by a typo in the middle of a phrase. We collected eight voice input programs and went through what matters in them specifically for personal notes, from the free limit to where the voice goes.

Prices and terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
SpeakFlowWindows, Web30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited))rubles directlycloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
DiktuyWindows, macOS30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever239 ₽/mo (Profi (monthly equivalent when billed yearly)); 2870 ₽/yr (Profi (year, billed in full)); 479 ₽/mo (Max (monthly equivalent when billed yearly))rubles directly (not confirmed)cloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
TalkpadmacOS, Windows, Android2500 words/week on desktop, 1500 words/week on mobile, free forever; plus a 14-day Pro trial$6/mo (Pro (billed yearly, $72/yr)); $8/mo (Pro (monthly billing))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (the legal entity is registered in Australia; the website is hosted on Cloudflare; the exact location of the ASR servers is not disclosed in the privacy policy) (not confirmed)
VoistyWindows, macOS5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality)$6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime)Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed)device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet)
WhispeRuWindows7-day free trial (no card)290 ₽/mo (monthly license); 1990 ₽/yr (yearly license); 4990 ₽/one-time (lifetime license)rubles directly (payment via YooKassa)device (offline)
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)
MolviWindows, macOSfree forever, no accounts and no payment—not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixeddevice (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU)
LisprWindows, macOS60 minutes of dictation per week for free; the key features (push-to-talk, translation, dictionary, local history) always stay free, without an account$7.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $79/yr (Pro, yearly (from $44.90 with regional discounts))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (USA; recognition is done by Groq, Inc.)

How we selected the programs

The selection includes voice input programs for Windows and macOS that work as a separate app on top of any text editor, not built into one particular notes service. For a personal diary, where an entry is not meant for other people's eyes, one point deserves separate attention: where recognition physically happens, on the device itself or on the server of a third-party cloud, where the voice goes before coming back as text. We also looked separately at the size of the free limit in minutes or words per week or month, because a diary entry is usually longer than a short phrase and uses it up faster, and at whether the program keeps a local history of what was dictated, apart from a separate limit.

What stands behind each row of the table

Who fits what

For a short daily entry of a few minutes, almost any program in the selection will fit within its free limit, even with the monthly ceiling at SpeakFlow and Diktuy.

Where Potok does not fit

Potok is a cloud service: recognition runs on servers in Russia, and it does not work at all without the internet. For a diary that by principle must not leave the device, a local option like Molvi or GigaType will do, not a cloud service on any plan. Potok has no apps for Android and iPhone, only versions for Windows, macOS and Linux, so you cannot dictate an entry from a phone before bed with it. Potok also does not support voice commands or voice editing of text: it inserts what you said, and rereading and fixing wording has to be done by ordinary typing. The free limit, 2500 words per week on one device, is generous for a short daily entry, but someone who dictates long reflections every day may need a paid subscription with no limit.

Frequently asked questions

Do voice input programs have their own history of old entries if the diary is kept in an ordinary text editor?

From the selection, such a function is described only for Lispr: the local history of dictated text works for free and without registration, regardless of the weekly limit on dictation itself. For the other programs no such option was found in open sources.

Voice input for keeping a diary: what to do and what to check?

Voice input for keeping a diary. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Voice input for keeping a diary you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Voice input for keeping a diary: how Potok differs from built-in dictation?

Voice input for keeping a diary. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Voice input for keeping a diary you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Voice input for keeping a diary: does recognition work without an internet connection?

Voice input for keeping a diary. Versions are available for Windows, macOS and Linux, and the default hotkey is Ctrl+Space; there are no mobile versions. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. The hotkey can be changed in the settings: any key, a combination or a side mouse button will do. Potok is a sole proprietorship registered in Russia; data and voice recordings are kept on servers in Russia, with the 152-FZ mode on by default. For Voice input for keeping a diary you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Voice input for keeping a diary: how much it costs and what the free plan includes?

Voice input for keeping a diary. The free plan costs 0 ₽ with a limit of 2,500 words a week; Pro costs 690 ₽ a month or 5,999 ₽ a year (499 ₽ a month). Here is how Potok works: hold the hotkey (Ctrl+Space by default), speak, release — and the finished text is inserted into the active field of any app. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Voice input for keeping a diary you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Check it in one evening

Install Potok, dictate what you usually type and compare. 14 days of full access, no card needed. Potok is a cloud service, so it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

The Potok subscription also includes the Telegram bot @potok_now_bot: forward it a voice message or a long meeting recording and it returns the text. Without a subscription the bot gives 60 minutes per month for free.

Built-in dictation and Potok

Based on Microsoft and Apple help pages.
ToolWhere it worksRussian languageWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, Linuxprimary languagecloud, servers in Russia, does not work offline
Windows voice typing (Win+H)Windows 10 and 11Windows 11 onlyMicrosoft cloud, does not work offline
macOS DictationmacOSyeson the device or on Apple servers

Primary sources: speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · blog.speakflow.ru

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer (in Russian) Comparisons · FAQ · About (in Russian) Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans (in Russian) · 14 days of Pro for a review (in Russian)