Software

Spokenly: what reviews on the Mac App Store, Trustpilot and AlternativeTo say

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~9 min

Potok turns speech into text in 33 languages, including English and Russian.

Spokenly gets high ratings: 4.4 out of 5 on the Mac App Store with 59 reviews, 4.3 out of 5 on Trustpilot, 4.43 out of 5 on AlternativeTo. People praise desktop dictation on the Mac and free local models with no word limit, and complain about keyboard failures on iOS. Potok solves the task differently: cloud recognition and 2500 words free every week on Windows, macOS and Linux.

59 reviews on the Mac App Store give Spokenly an average rating of 4.4 out of 5. On Trustpilot and AlternativeTo the figures are similar, 4.3 and 4.43. For a niche dictation app this is a solid result, but behind the averaged rating there are two different stories: the desktop version is praised almost without exception, while the keyboard on iOS draws complaints from some users.

Where Spokenly ratings are collected

The summary below is built on three open sources: the app page in the Mac App Store, where Spokenly has 4.4 out of 5 from 59 ratings, the page on Trustpilot with a rating of 4.3 out of 5 from 7 reviews, and the AlternativeTo card with a rating of 4.43 out of 5 from 2 reviews. The three platforms moderate opinions differently: Apple ties a rating to the fact of installation through the App Store, Trustpilot accepts a review from any user with an account, and AlternativeTo is more a catalog with voting than a full review platform, so the sample there is very small.

A small number of ratings on Trustpilot and AlternativeTo is no reason to discard these sources, but no reason to treat them as equal to a full survey either: seven and two reviews show the direction of opinions, not a statistically reliable percentage. The rating on the Mac App Store, where the sample is noticeably larger, is closest to how regular users of the desktop version specifically see Spokenly, and it stands behind most of the wordings of “praise” and “complaints” below.

Spokenly and Potok: facts from the official websites.
SpokenlyPotok
PlatformsSpokenly: macOS, Windows, Linux, iOSPotok: Windows, macOS, Linux
FreeSpokenly: local models (Whisper/Parakeet) are free forever with no word limit; connecting your own API keys (BYOK) is also freePotok: Free: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card needed
PriceSpokenly: $9.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $99.99/yr (Pro, yearly (≈$8.33/mo))Potok: Pro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearly
Payment from RussiaSpokenly: not disclosedPotok: Russian bank cards, rubles
Where speech is recognizedSpokenly: hybrid: locally on the device (Whisper/Parakeet, free) or in the cloud (GPT-4o Transcribe, Deepgram Nova 3, Soniox and others, via BYOK or Pro)Potok: cloud; internet required
Russian languageSpokenly: not disclosedPotok: primary language
CompanySpokenly: not disclosedPotok: Sole proprietor, Russia

Sources: spokenly.app · spokenly.app

What people praise in Spokenly

What people complain about in Spokenly

Of the three sources, the complaints concern almost exclusively one part of the product, the keyboard for iOS. On the Mac App Store users write that the iOS keyboard causes unwanted switching between apps during dictation: it is inconvenient when instead of typing text the app suddenly minimizes. There people also separately note cases when the keyboard on iOS fails or glitches; the reliability of mobile input is below the desktop version for Mac.

On Trustpilot the complaint is of another kind: some settings in the app are described unclearly, and some options are not documented at all. For a program with hybrid recognition (local models, BYOK, the Pro subscription with cloud models) this is especially sensitive: working out which setting is responsible for which mode without documentation is harder than in a service with one single way of working.

There are no complaints about desktop dictation for Mac, Windows or Linux in these three sources at all; all the complaints are gathered around the iOS keyboard and documentation. But the sample itself is small: 68 reviews across three platforms in total is enough to see a direction but too little to rule out other problems that simply did not make it into the sample.

Prices and terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
SpokenlymacOS, Windows, Linux, iOSlocal models (Whisper/Parakeet) are free forever with no word limit; connecting your own API keys (BYOK) is also free$9.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $99.99/yr (Pro, yearly (≈$8.33/mo))not disclosedhybrid: locally on the device (Whisper/Parakeet, free) or in the cloud (GPT-4o Transcribe, Deepgram Nova 3, Soniox and others, via BYOK or Pro)
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)

Who Potok will not suit instead of Spokenly

For those who need dictation with no internet at all, on the device, without sending sound anywhere, Potok is not a replacement: it is a cloud service, recognition runs on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet. In Spokenly the local Whisper and Parakeet models compute speech right on the device for free and with no word limit; for confidential recordings or an unstable internet this is the only working option.

Potok will not suit those who need iOS either: it has no client for that system, only Windows, macOS and Linux. Those who want to connect their own API key and choose between different cloud recognition models should also look toward Spokenly: in Potok recognition works on one own model, with no choice of engine. A similar review is in the article GigaType or Potok, and a broader choice of programs is in the catalog of voice input.

Frequently asked questions

Does Spokenly work without the internet?

Yes: the local Whisper and Parakeet models recognize speech right on the device, for free and with no word limit; cloud models through the Pro subscription or your own API key work only with an internet connection.

Can I use Spokenly for free all the time, not only during a trial period?

Yes: local models and the mode with your own API key (BYOK) are free with no time limit and no word limit. The Pro subscription is needed only by those who want ready cloud models without their own key.

Spokenly: what to replace it with and what to check before switching?

Spokenly. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Spokenly you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Spokenly: how much it costs and whether you can pay from Russia?

Spokenly. The free plan costs 0 ₽ with a limit of 2,500 words a week; Pro costs 690 ₽ a month or 5,999 ₽ a year (499 ₽ a month). Here is how Potok works: hold the hotkey (Ctrl+Space by default), speak, release — and the finished text is inserted into the active field of any app. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Spokenly you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Spokenly: which platforms it runs on and where speech is recognised?

Spokenly. Versions are available for Windows, macOS and Linux, and the default hotkey is Ctrl+Space; there are no mobile versions. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. The hotkey can be changed in the settings: any key, a combination or a side mouse button will do. Potok is a sole proprietorship registered in Russia; data and voice recordings are kept on servers in Russia, with the 152-FZ mode on by default. For Spokenly you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Spokenly: what Potok does and how it differs?

Spokenly. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Spokenly you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

If you want to compare for yourself

Take one of your own tasks and dictate it in Potok. The first 14 days have no limits and need no card. Potok is a cloud service, so it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

A voice message from a messenger or a call recording can be forwarded to the bot @potok_now_bot, and it sends back the text. The bot is part of the same subscription as the Potok app.

Primary sources: spokenly.app · spokenly.app · support.microsoft.com · support.apple.com

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer (in Russian) Comparisons · FAQ · About (in Russian) Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans (in Russian) · 14 days of Pro for a review (in Russian)