Apps

Voice input in notes: Apple Notes, Bear, Craft, Evernote, Google Keep, Joplin

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~10 min

Potok turns speech into text in 33 languages, including English and Russian.

Voice input in notes works the same way in any app: the program recognizes speech and inserts the finished text into the field where the cursor is, whether it is Apple Notes, Bear, Craft, Evernote, Google Keep or Joplin, because the text is inserted into the active window of the operating system. In Potok (potok.now) the free plan gives 2500 words per week on one device; alternatives such as SpeakFlow or Diktuy work in a similar way.

Voice input in notes almost always works the same way as in any other text field: the program listens for the hotkey, recognizes speech and inserts the text where the cursor is. For such a program, Apple Notes, Bear, Craft, Evernote, Google Keep and Joplin are ordinary text fields of the operating system, so it usually needs no separate integration with each app.

All articles in this section, in Russian (28): potok.now/prilozheniya/notes

Which notes apps already have voice input covered

Six note-taking apps are covered separately on the site: each has its own way of storing text and its own audience, but the principle of inserting text by voice is the same.

Prices and terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
SpeakFlowWindows, Web30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited))rubles directlycloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
DiktuyWindows, macOS30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever239 ₽/mo (Profi (monthly equivalent when billed yearly)); 2870 ₽/yr (Profi (year, billed in full)); 479 ₽/mo (Max (monthly equivalent when billed yearly))rubles directly (not confirmed)cloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
TalkpadmacOS, Windows, Android2500 words/week on desktop, 1500 words/week on mobile, free forever; plus a 14-day Pro trial$6/mo (Pro (billed yearly, $72/yr)); $8/mo (Pro (monthly billing))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (the legal entity is registered in Australia; the website is hosted on Cloudflare; the exact location of the ASR servers is not disclosed in the privacy policy) (not confirmed)
VoistyWindows, macOS5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality)$6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime)Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed)device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet)
WhispeRuWindows7-day free trial (no card)290 ₽/mo (monthly license); 1990 ₽/yr (yearly license); 4990 ₽/one-time (lifetime license)rubles directly (payment via YooKassa)device (offline)
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)
MolviWindows, macOSfree forever, no accounts and no payment—not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixeddevice (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU)

Where to start with voice input in notes

  1. Decide which notes app you already use: Apple Notes, Bear, Craft, Evernote, Google Keep or Joplin. As a rule this does not matter to a voice input program, which simply inserts text into the active field.
  2. Assign one hotkey for dictation and train your hand not to reach for the keyboard right away: this is the main habit that saves time.
  3. Check free access before paying: in Potok it is 14 days of full access without a card, in Molvi it is free forever, in WhispeRu it is a 7-day trial period.
  4. Dictate a real note, not a test phrase: a shopping list with numbers or a short plan for the day will show faster how the program handles pauses and lists.
  5. If you often write notes without a connection, compare options with recognition right on the device, for example GigaType: they work without the internet all the same.

Where Potok does not fit

Potok is a cloud service: recognition runs on servers in Russia, and it does not work without an internet connection. If you write notes mostly on the road without a stable connection, take this into account in advance.

Potok has no mobile apps for Android and iPhone, only clients for Windows, macOS and Linux, so you cannot dictate into Google Keep or Bear straight from a phone through Potok. There are also no voice commands for editing text: Potok inserts what it heard and does not rewrite what was written earlier.

Frequently asked questions

In which note-taking apps does voice input work?

In any text field, including notes: Apple Notes, Bear, Craft, Evernote, Google Keep, Joplin and others. A voice input program is not tied to a specific app: it recognizes speech and inserts the text where the cursor is at that moment.

Does voice input need separate setup for each note-taking app?

Usually not: there is one setup, a hotkey and the choice of recognition language in the program itself, and after that it works in all apps at once, including notes. No separate integration with a specific app is needed for this.

Voice input in notes: what to do and what to check?

Voice input in notes. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Voice input in notes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Voice input in notes: how Potok differs from built-in dictation?

Voice input in notes. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Voice input in notes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Voice input in notes: does recognition work without an internet connection?

Voice input in notes. Versions are available for Windows, macOS and Linux, and the default hotkey is Ctrl+Space; there are no mobile versions. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. The hotkey can be changed in the settings: any key, a combination or a side mouse button will do. Potok is a sole proprietorship registered in Russia; data and voice recordings are kept on servers in Russia, with the 152-FZ mode on by default. For Voice input in notes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Voice input in notes: how much it costs and what the free plan includes?

Voice input in notes. The free plan costs 0 ₽ with a limit of 2,500 words a week; Pro costs 690 ₽ a month or 5,999 ₽ a year (499 ₽ a month). Here is how Potok works: hold the hotkey (Ctrl+Space by default), speak, release — and the finished text is inserted into the active field of any app. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For Voice input in notes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

If you want to compare for yourself

Take one of your own tasks and dictate it in Potok. The first 14 days have no limits and need no card. Potok is a cloud service, so it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

A voice message from a messenger or a call recording can be forwarded to the bot @potok_now_bot, and it sends back the text. The bot is part of the same subscription as the Potok app.

Related software: terms compared

Terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
SpeakFlowWindows, Web30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited))rubles directlycloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
DiktuyWindows, macOS30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever239 ₽/mo (Profi (monthly equivalent when billed yearly)); 2870 ₽/yr (Profi (year, billed in full)); 479 ₽/mo (Max (monthly equivalent when billed yearly))rubles directly (not confirmed)cloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
TalkpadmacOS, Windows, Android2500 words/week on desktop, 1500 words/week on mobile, free forever; plus a 14-day Pro trial$6/mo (Pro (billed yearly, $72/yr)); $8/mo (Pro (monthly billing))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (the legal entity is registered in Australia; the website is hosted on Cloudflare; the exact location of the ASR servers is not disclosed in the privacy policy) (not confirmed)
VoistyWindows, macOS5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality)$6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime)Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed)device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet)
WhispeRuWindows7-day free trial (no card)290 ₽/mo (monthly license); 1990 ₽/yr (yearly license); 4990 ₽/one-time (lifetime license)rubles directly (payment via YooKassa)device (offline)
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)
MolviWindows, macOSfree forever, no accounts and no payment—not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixeddevice (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU)

Primary sources: speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · blog.speakflow.ru

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer (in Russian) Comparisons · FAQ · About (in Russian) Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans (in Russian) · 14 days of Pro for a review (in Russian)