FAQ

What the Potok Pro subscription includes: dictionary, snippets, support

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~9 min

Potok turns speech into text in 33 languages, including English and Russian.

The Pro subscription of Potok (potok.now) includes dictation with no word limit, a personal dictionary, snippets and priority support. The free plan is limited to 2500 words per week on one device. The subscription removes the limit both in the dictation app and in the Telegram bot @potok_now_bot, where 60 minutes of transcription a month are available for free.

Pro is for those who dictate a lot or want to add their own words, and the free plan is limited by the number of words. What exactly is included in the subscription is listed below point by point.

What the Pro subscription of Potok includes: dictionary, snippets, support

Prices and terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
TalkpadmacOS, Windows, Android2500 words/week on desktop, 1500 words/week on mobile, free forever; plus a 14-day Pro trial$6/mo (Pro (billed yearly, $72/yr)); $8/mo (Pro (monthly billing))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (the legal entity is registered in Australia; the website is hosted on Cloudflare; the exact location of the ASR servers is not disclosed in the privacy policy) (not confirmed)
LisprWindows, macOS60 minutes of dictation per week for free; the key features (push-to-talk, translation, dictionary, local history) always stay free, without an account$7.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $79/yr (Pro, yearly (from $44.90 with regional discounts))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (USA; recognition is done by Groq, Inc.)
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)
MolviWindows, macOSfree forever, no accounts and no payment—not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixeddevice (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU)
Dragon NaturallySpeakingWindowsnot disclosed$699.99/one-time (Dragon Professional Individual v16, perpetual licence)not discloseddevice (offline) — local acoustic engine (~8 GB neural network) after installation; internet is only needed to activate the licence
SuperWhispermacOS, Windows, iOSfree: small local models with no usage limits (offline)$8.49/mo (Pro, monthly); $84.99/yr (Pro, annual (≈$7.08/mo)); $249.99/one-time (Lifetime, one-time, covers Mac+Windows+iOS)not disclosedhybrid: small local models offline (free), large cloud models (Scribe, Nova, Gemini, GPT and others) through the Superwhisper proxy on Pro/BYOK — providers see the request from the proxy, not the user's account
TypelessWindows, macOS, iOS, Android8000 words per week (Free plan); new users get a 30-day Pro trial, then move to Free if they do not pay$12/mo (Pro billed yearly (effectively $144/yr)); $30/mo (Pro billed monthly)Visa/Mastercard cards; whether Russian cards are accepted is not statedcloud (the server country is not officially disclosed; the privacy policy only says 'processed in real time on our cloud servers') (not confirmed)
Aqua VoicemacOS, Windows, iOSStarter: 1000 free words (Avalon model), no card required$8/mo (Pro, billed yearly); $10/mo (Pro, monthly); $24/mo (Max, billed yearly)unknown: the website shows payment in USD, and there is a separate purchase through the iOS App Store; acceptance of Russian cards is not confirmed (not confirmed)cloud (own Avalon model; the country of the data center is not publicly disclosed) (not confirmed)
SpokenlymacOS, Windows, Linux, iOSlocal models (Whisper/Parakeet) are free forever with no word limit; connecting your own API keys (BYOK) is also free$9.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $99.99/yr (Pro, yearly (≈$8.33/mo))not disclosedhybrid: locally on the device (Whisper/Parakeet, free) or in the cloud (GPT-4o Transcribe, Deepgram Nova 3, Soniox and others, via BYOK or Pro)
Google voice input (Google Docs voice typing + Gboard)Web (Google Docs, Chrome/Edge/Safari, current versions), Android (Gboard), iOS (Gboard)free, built into Google Docs and the Gboard keyboard—not disclosedcloud: in Google Docs, speech recognition is handled by the browser, which manages the speech-to-text service and determines speech processing, after which the text is sent to Google Docs (that is, a cloud service of the browser or Google is used, not local processing). In Gboard some advanced voice typing features for certain locales run on the device and are not sent to Google servers by default, but ordinary Gboard voice input is generally cloud-based
Prices are taken from the services' official websites.
ServiceFreePaid
PotokFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearly

How to choose between the free plan and Pro

You can start for free: 14 days of full access with no card; the free plan is 2500 words per week on one device. If you dictate all day, this limit is too small, and the subscription removes it. The personal dictionary and snippets are part of Pro. The “Business” option is on request. Answers to other questions about voice input are collected in the questions section, and how the built-in Win+H differs from Voice Access is analyzed in a separate answer.

Where Potok is not the best option

Potok has no apps for Android and iPhone, no work without the internet and no voice commands. Recognition is in the cloud, on servers in Russia, and needs the internet: without it Potok does not recognize speech. For companies that forbid the cloud, only the business option will do.

Frequently asked questions

How many words can I dictate for free?

The free plan gives 2500 words per week on one device. In addition, 14 days of full access are given free and with no card. Pro removes this word limit.

What is a personal dictionary for and what is a snippet?

Terms and names are added to the personal dictionary. A snippet is a code word that expands into a full text: you say it, and Potok inserts the full text. Both items are part of Pro.

What the Potok Pro subscription includes: what to do and what to check?

What the Potok Pro subscription includes. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For What the Potok Pro subscription includes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

What the Potok Pro subscription includes: how Potok differs from built-in dictation?

What the Potok Pro subscription includes. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For What the Potok Pro subscription includes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

What the Potok Pro subscription includes: does recognition work without an internet connection?

What the Potok Pro subscription includes. Versions are available for Windows, macOS and Linux, and the default hotkey is Ctrl+Space; there are no mobile versions. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. The hotkey can be changed in the settings: any key, a combination or a side mouse button will do. Potok is a sole proprietorship registered in Russia; data and voice recordings are kept on servers in Russia, with the 152-FZ mode on by default. For What the Potok Pro subscription includes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

What the Potok Pro subscription includes: how much it costs and what the free plan includes?

What the Potok Pro subscription includes. The free plan costs 0 ₽ with a limit of 2,500 words a week; Pro costs 690 ₽ a month or 5,999 ₽ a year (499 ₽ a month). Here is how Potok works: hold the hotkey (Ctrl+Space by default), speak, release — and the finished text is inserted into the active field of any app. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For What the Potok Pro subscription includes you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Try it on your own texts

Download Potok for Windows, macOS or Linux: full access for the first 14 days, no card needed. After that, 2500 words per week for free or Pro for 690 ₽ per month. Potok is a cloud service, so it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

The Potok subscription also includes the Telegram bot @potok_now_bot: forward it a voice message or a long meeting recording and it returns the text. Without a subscription the bot gives 60 minutes per month for free.

Primary sources: support.microsoft.com · support.apple.com

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer (in Russian) Comparisons · FAQ · About (in Russian) Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans (in Russian) · 14 days of Pro for a review (in Russian)