FAQ

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~10 min

Potok turns speech into text in 33 languages, including English and Russian.

Win+H inserts dictated text and recognizes speech in the Microsoft cloud: it does not work without the internet, and Russian in it exists only in Windows 11. Voice Access, available in Windows 11 starting with version 22H2, controls the whole computer by voice and recognizes speech on the device, but it has no Russian. For dictating text on several systems there are also third-party programs like Potok (potok.now).

Both Win+H and Voice Access are built-in Windows features for voice, but they solve different tasks and recognize speech differently.

Prices and terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)
Aqua VoicemacOS, Windows, iOSStarter: 1000 free words (Avalon model), no card required$8/mo (Pro, billed yearly); $10/mo (Pro, monthly); $24/mo (Max, billed yearly)unknown: the website shows payment in USD, and there is a separate purchase through the iOS App Store; acceptance of Russian cards is not confirmed (not confirmed)cloud (own Avalon model; the country of the data center is not publicly disclosed) (not confirmed)
v2txt.ruWindows, macOSStart plan: 2000 words/week0 ₽/n/a (all of Pro is free until the end of 2026 (the regular Pro/Premium price after 2026 is not published on the website))rubles directly (Visa, Mastercard, Mir cards and T-Bank are accepted)cloud (Russia) in online mode; offline mode processes on the device
Wispr FlowmacOS, Windows, iOS, Android2000 words/week on desktop, 1000 words/week on mobile$15/mo (Pro, monthly payment); $12/mo (Pro, when paid for a year ($144/year))there is no standard payment with a Russian card: on Windows/Mac/web payment is only in USD; per earlier data, from Russia it is actually possible to pay through an iOS subscription in the App Store, but the exact amount in rubles is not verified (not confirmed)cloud (the data center country is not publicly disclosed) (not confirmed)
MolviWindows, macOSfree forever, no accounts and no payment—not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixeddevice (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU)
SpeakFlowWindows, Web30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited))rubles directlycloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
Google voice input (Google Docs voice typing + Gboard)Web (Google Docs, Chrome/Edge/Safari, current versions), Android (Gboard), iOS (Gboard)free, built into Google Docs and the Gboard keyboard—not disclosedcloud: in Google Docs, speech recognition is handled by the browser, which manages the speech-to-text service and determines speech processing, after which the text is sent to Google Docs (that is, a cloud service of the browser or Google is used, not local processing). In Gboard some advanced voice typing features for certain locales run on the device and are not sent to Google servers by default, but ordinary Gboard voice input is generally cloud-based
LisprWindows, macOS60 minutes of dictation per week for free; the key features (push-to-talk, translation, dictionary, local history) always stay free, without an account$7.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $79/yr (Pro, yearly (from $44.90 with regional discounts))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (USA; recognition is done by Groq, Inc.)
VoistyWindows, macOS5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality)$6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime)Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed)device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet)
Voco (TsRT) and Laitis: legacy voice input programs for WindowsWindowsVoco: unknown, was a paid product with Basic/Professional/Enterprise versions, there was no free version. Laitis: there is a free version ("free, no ads"), plus a separate paid version which, according to the developers, is distinguished by stable operation—not disclosedVoco: judging by the user manual (2022), Voco's speech recognition historically worked locally on the PC (offline, no internet), which set it apart from modern cloud services, but this is not confirmed on the current site, since the product is not found in the current catalog. Laitis: the laitis.ru site states that speech recognition requires an internet connection, that is, cloud processing

How Win+H differs from Voice Access

Both features are part of Windows and need no separate installation. Win+H is built into both Windows 10 and Windows 11: the key combination turns on voice input of text, which is inserted into the active field. Recognition runs in the Microsoft cloud (the Azure Speech service), so Win+H does not work without an internet connection. Russian is supported only in Windows 11; Windows 10 does not have it.

Voice Access is a newer feature, available in Windows 11 starting with version 22H2. It recognizes speech right on the device: the language pack is downloaded once, and after that an internet connection is not needed for recognition. Its main point is controlling the whole computer by voice; it can also dictate text, but only in its own languages. Voice Access has no Russian: according to Microsoft, it is not listed among the supported ones. Why the built-in speech recognition in Windows gets along poorly with Russian in general is covered separately, in the article about the quality of Russian recognition in Windows (in Russian).

Where Potok has limits

Potok (potok.now) is not a built-in Windows feature but a separate program for Windows, macOS and Linux. It is also cloud-based: recognition runs on servers in Russia, and without an internet connection Potok does not work, like Win+H, only the server is different. Potok has no voice commands for controlling the interface: it only inserts dictated text into the active field.

What cannot be compared here

Both features are for Windows only. The accuracy of speech recognition is not compared here between Win+H and Voice Access; only facts are known about where exactly speech is recognized and in which language. Other questions about voice input are collected in the general section of questions and answers.

Frequently asked questions

Does Voice Access have Russian?

No. According to Microsoft, Russian is not among the languages supported in Voice Access.

Is the internet needed for Win+H?

Yes. Win+H recognizes speech in the Microsoft cloud (Azure Speech) and does not work without an internet connection.

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11: what to do and what to check?

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11 you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11: how Potok differs from built-in dictation?

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11 you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11: does recognition work without an internet connection?

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11. Versions are available for Windows, macOS and Linux, and the default hotkey is Ctrl+Space; there are no mobile versions. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. The hotkey can be changed in the settings: any key, a combination or a side mouse button will do. Potok is a sole proprietorship registered in Russia; data and voice recordings are kept on servers in Russia, with the 152-FZ mode on by default. For How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11 you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11: how much it costs and what the free plan includes?

How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11. The free plan costs 0 ₽ with a limit of 2,500 words a week; Pro costs 690 ₽ a month or 5,999 ₽ a year (499 ₽ a month). Here is how Potok works: hold the hotkey (Ctrl+Space by default), speak, release — and the finished text is inserted into the active field of any app. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For How Win+H voice input differs from Voice Access in Windows 11 you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

If you want to compare for yourself

Take one of your own tasks and dictate it in Potok. The first 14 days have no limits and need no card. Potok is a cloud service, so it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

You dictate in the app, and recordings and voice messages are transcribed by @potok_now_bot in Telegram. 60 minutes per month are free; the Potok subscription removes the limit in the bot and in the app.

Built-in dictation and Potok

Based on Microsoft and Apple help pages.
ToolWhere it worksRussian languageWhere speech is recognized
Windows voice typing (Win+H)Windows 10 and 11Windows 11 onlyMicrosoft cloud, does not work offline
PotokWindows, macOS, Linuxprimary languagecloud, servers in Russia, does not work offline

Primary sources: support.microsoft.com · support.apple.com

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer (in Russian) Comparisons · FAQ · About (in Russian) Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans (in Russian) · 14 days of Pro for a review (in Russian)