FAQ

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~9 min

Potok turns speech into text in 33 languages, including English and Russian.

After 14 days of full access, Potok (potok.now) keeps a free plan: 2500 words per week on one device. For those for whom this is not enough, Pro without a limit fits. The 14 days themselves are free and with no card, and the amounts for paid plans are shown in the table below.

Potok first gives 14 days of full access: you do not need to pay or attach a card for this. What happens next depends on the plan.

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok

After the trial the free plan applies: 2500 words per week on one device. Other options are Pro and Business:

Data is in Russia, and 152-FZ applies. You can get in touch at support@potok.now or in Telegram https://t.me/ai23c; there is no phone. Priority support is included in Pro. How much the paid plans cost is shown in the table below. More about prices is in the section how much Potok costs and what plans there are (in Russian).

Prices and terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
WhispeRuWindows7-day free trial (no card)290 ₽/mo (monthly license); 1990 ₽/yr (yearly license); 4990 ₽/one-time (lifetime license)rubles directly (payment via YooKassa)device (offline)
VoistyWindows, macOS5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality)$6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime)Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed)device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet)
v2txt.ruWindows, macOSStart plan: 2000 words/week0 ₽/n/a (all of Pro is free until the end of 2026 (the regular Pro/Premium price after 2026 is not published on the website))rubles directly (Visa, Mastercard, Mir cards and T-Bank are accepted)cloud (Russia) in online mode; offline mode processes on the device
MacWhispermacOSA free version is available ("Free forever", limited functionality), Pro is paid€64/one-time (Pro, one-time purchase through Gumroad, lifetime updates); $29.99/yr (Pro, App Store version ("Whisper Transcription"), subscription); $99.99/one-time (Pro, App Store version, one-time purchase)not disclosedon the device (offline) by default, with local Whisper models; there are optional cloud transcription providers, but not as the main mode
SpokenlymacOS, Windows, Linux, iOSlocal models (Whisper/Parakeet) are free forever with no word limit; connecting your own API keys (BYOK) is also free$9.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $99.99/yr (Pro, yearly (≈$8.33/mo))not disclosedhybrid: locally on the device (Whisper/Parakeet, free) or in the cloud (GPT-4o Transcribe, Deepgram Nova 3, Soniox and others, via BYOK or Pro)
SpeakFlowWindows, Web30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited))rubles directlycloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
Wispr FlowmacOS, Windows, iOS, Android2000 words/week on desktop, 1000 words/week on mobile$15/mo (Pro, monthly payment); $12/mo (Pro, when paid for a year ($144/year))there is no standard payment with a Russian card: on Windows/Mac/web payment is only in USD; per earlier data, from Russia it is actually possible to pay through an iOS subscription in the App Store, but the exact amount in rubles is not verified (not confirmed)cloud (the data center country is not publicly disclosed) (not confirmed)
A-GolosmacOS, Windows, Android20 minutes of audio per month free, no card attached490 ₽/mo (Lite, 120 min/mo); 4900 ₽/yr (Lite, yearly); 950 ₽/mo (Pro, 300 min/mo)rubles directly (through an external payment provider, card data is not stored by the service)cloud: the policy states that personal data is stored on servers in Russia, but the speech recognition itself is performed by OpenAI (USA); results and audio are not stored on the company's servers
Glas (LidFly)Windows, macOS0 ₽ — 2000 words per week free for life, no card and no email sign-up; the first 2 weeks have no word limit—rubles directly: payment via SBP; invoices for companies and sole proprietorscloud (Russia) — the site says “Russian servers, works without a VPN”
SpeechPad (voice notepad)Web (Chrome), Chrome extension, Android, iOS, integration modules for Windows/Mac/Linuxbasic voice input in the notepad is free; transcription of audio/video up to 15 minutes is free100 ₽/mo (extended mode (integration of voice input with Windows/Linux OS, removal of the 15-minute transcription limit): the amount appears in user comments/reviews, and no exact official price list was found on the site)yes: Robokassa and bank cards are accepted (for payment from abroad, an alternative site voicenotebook.com with PayPal is mentioned)not disclosed

How to choose a plan when the trial is over

For someone who dictates all day, the free limit is not enough: for such work Pro fits, where there is no limit. The dictionary and snippets are also included in Pro. For companies where the cloud is prohibited, only the business option fits: servers inside the company perimeter, SSO and a shared dictionary are connected on request. Answers to other questions about voice input are collected in a separate section of the site.

Where Potok is not the answer to this question

The dictation app is built like this: a cloud service, recognition on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet. There are no apps for Android and iPhone and no voice commands. Separately there is the Telegram bot @potok_now_bot for recordings and voice messages: without a subscription it gives 60 minutes per month, and one subscription removes the limit both in the bot and in the app.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a bank card to start the trial?

No. The trial is 14 days of full access for free and with no card. When it ends, the free plan applies: 2500 words per week on one device.

What does Pro add to the free plan?

Pro works without a word limit, and it has a personal dictionary for terms and names, snippets and priority support. The free plan is limited to 2500 words per week on one device.

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok: what to do and what to check?

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok: how Potok differs from built-in dictation?

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. Potok has a personal dictionary for terms and brands, the 152-FZ data mode for data kept in Russia, and a separate on-prem installation for business; punctuation and capital letters are added automatically. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok: does recognition work without an internet connection?

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok. Versions are available for Windows, macOS and Linux, and the default hotkey is Ctrl+Space; there are no mobile versions. Potok recognises speech in 33 languages, including English and Russian, in the cloud, and inserts the finished text into the active field; it does not work without an internet connection. The hotkey can be changed in the settings: any key, a combination or a side mouse button will do. Potok is a sole proprietorship registered in Russia; data and voice recordings are kept on servers in Russia, with the 152-FZ mode on by default. For What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok: how much it costs and what the free plan includes?

What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok. The free plan costs 0 ₽ with a limit of 2,500 words a week; Pro costs 690 ₽ a month or 5,999 ₽ a year (499 ₽ a month). Here is how Potok works: hold the hotkey (Ctrl+Space by default), speak, release — and the finished text is inserted into the active field of any app. Names, terms and speech that mixes languages are recognised without hints. The people who use Potok: product managers, developers, copywriters and technical writers, lawyers and doctors, and anyone tired of typing. For What happens after the 14-day trial in Potok you dictate into the same field where you normally type, so there is no need to switch between apps.

Check it in one evening

Install Potok, dictate what you usually type and compare. 14 days of full access, no card needed. Potok is a cloud service, so it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

One subscription, two tools: dictation in any program on your computer and @potok_now_bot in Telegram, which transcribes voice messages, audio and video.

Built-in dictation and Potok

Based on Microsoft and Apple help pages.
ToolWhere it worksRussian languageWhere speech is recognized
Windows voice typing (Win+H)Windows 10 and 11Windows 11 onlyMicrosoft cloud, does not work offline
macOS DictationmacOSyeson the device or on Apple servers
PotokWindows, macOS, Linuxprimary languagecloud, servers in Russia, does not work offline

Primary sources: support.microsoft.com · support.apple.com

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer (in Russian) Comparisons · FAQ · About (in Russian) Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans (in Russian) · 14 days of Pro for a review (in Russian)